Projects

The projects supported financially by the foundation, in full or in co-funding, are briefly described below (updated October 2021). More detailed information is available on request.


A)  Cancer research and clinical studies on cancer


TAXIS international phase-III trial (Basel University Hospital)

Tailored axillary surgery with or without axillary lymph node dissection followed by radiotherapy in patients with clinically node-positive breast cancer (TAXIS). A multicenter randomized phase III trial (Walter P. Weber).

(2021 - ongoing)

Complete lymph node removal through conventional axillary dissection has been the standard treatment for breast cancer patients for a long time. This radical intervention can induce long-lasting heavy side-effects such as pains and limitations in movements. The aim of the TAXIS trial, an international collaboration led by Prof. Weber at the Basel University Hospital, is to evaluate the treatment based on tailored axillary surgery in conjunction with radiotherapy, which could assure an optimal effectiveness without the side effects of the conventional treatment. The foundation provides financial support over three years for an amount that that covers the cost of treatment of the patients recruited in Switzerland.


Project on radiation therapy quality improvement program (RTQA) (University Hospital Zurich)

Clinical Trials associated Radiation Therapy Quality Improvement Program for a prospective randomized trial on high-precision radiosurgery for brain metastases conducted by the Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich (N. Andratschke)

(2021 - ongoing)

Brain metastases that appear in conjunction with various types of cancer are generally treated with stereotactic radiosurgery, the timing of which is controversial. The Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich (CCCZ) is initiating a randomized phase III clinical trial to address this issue. Currently however there are no agreed radiotherapy quality assurance (RTQA) standards for high-precision brain radiosurgery within clinical trials. This project aims at implementing an RTQA strategy within the CCCZ trial and eventually to transfer modern quality standards into clinical routine practice. The foundation provides financial support at the level of 22% of the overall project budget over two years.


Project on circulating tumor cells (Basel University and University Hospital)

Three-dimensional culture of circulating tumor cells on a microchip technology to enable real-time personalized drug screening (F. Schwab)

(2019 - 2020)

The study is conducted by Dr Fabienne Schwab, Basel Unispital (USB) in the frame of a translational research project led by Prof. N. Aceto at the Basel University. The aim of the study is to single out and analyse the tumor cells circulating in the blood (CTC) in order to investigate the biology and formation of metastases.
The CTCs are detected and isolated using microfluidic technologies. The sequencing of the genome allows to gain insight in the metastasis formation process. The effects of different medicaments can then be investigated on ex vivo cultures of CTCs with the aim of developing effective personalized therapies.
In this study, a microchip of novel conception is developed so as to integrate the culture of CTCs and the study of medicaments in vitro.

The CTCs are detected and isolated using microfluidic technologies. The sequencing of the genome allows to gain insight in the metastasis formation process. The effects of different medicaments can then be investigated on ex vivo cultures of CTCs with the aim of developing effective personalized therapies.

In this study, a microchip of novel conception is developed so as to integrate the culture of CTCs and the study of medicaments in vitro.

A first article on the results has been published in June 2021 in a scientific journal.


Project on photodynamic therapy for cancer (EPFL - Lausanne)

Combined use of exogenous agents and photobiomodulation to improve cancer photodynamic therapy with protoporphyrin IX (G. Wagnières)

(2019 - 2020)

Photodynamic therapy (PDT) is a technique to detect and treat tumor lesions with the help of photosensitizers (PS). The PS are chemical substances that concentrate in tumoral tissues and become toxic when exposed to light, thereby killing the tumoral cells. PDT is unfortunately not always effective because the photosensitizer is often produced in insufficient quantity and is not homogeneous.

The aim of this project, led by Dr. G. Wagnières in the functional and metabolic imaging laboratory at the EPFL, is to develop a novel method to increase the quantity and homogeneity of the endogenous production of a particular photosensitizer in tumor cells by means of photobiomodulation (PBM). This consists in exposing the tumor tissues to specific doses of near infrared, non thermal radiation so as to stimulate the cell metabolism and correspondingly the production of photosensitizer.

The results are reported in an article submitted for publication.


Project PEINCA (University of Basel (Institut für Pflegewissenschaft), Inselspital Bern, Triemlispital Zürich)

Studie zum Testen der Wirksamkeit des deutschsprachigen PRO-SELF© Plus Pain Control Program, einer Intervention für Patienten und Patientinnen mit fortgeschrittenen Krebserkrankungen und ihre Angehörigen zur Reduktion von Schmerzen und damit zusammenhängenden Beschwerden  (E. Spichiger, R. Spirig, K. Zaugg)

(2015 - 2019)

Pain is unfortunately a continuous and often unbearable presence for patients with cancer in an advanced stage. It is a source of suffering for the patients and their relatives. To improve the quality of life, one needs an effective method to choose the type and dosage of the pain relief drugs.

The aim of the PEINCA project is to assess the efficacy of the PRO-SELF© Plus Pain Control Program in reducing pain and related symptoms, by adapting it to German-speaking cancer outpatients and their family caregivers.

The project has been completed in December 2019. The number of patients who participated was smaller than anticipated, but those patients engaged themselves actively in the study. One of the main results of the study was that the group of patients who applied the PRO-SELF Plus PCP method reported a substantial reduction of the pain on average. The daily logbook of the perceived pain was found to be very useful and effective for optimizing the treatment and the dosage under control of the medical and nursing staff. The authors of the study have recommended that the pain control program be adopted in the standard clinical praxis.

The study has been the subject of a doctoral thesis and of publications in scientific journals.


Project on prostate cancer (Department of clinical research (DKF), Uni Bern)

Towards a precision therapy for mutant prostate cancer  (Mark A. Rubin)

(2017 - 2018)

Certain forms of prostate cancer are defined through an early mutation in a gene called SPOP. These mutations enable the tumor cells to grow by activating two different critical pathways. The aim of the project is to investigate these processes.

The study will use cells from a mouse model system and the gene editing "scissors" CRISPR-Cas9.

The researchers hope to obtain a deeper understanding of the SPOP mutant prostate cancer and to put forward a strategy for a precision therapy for the patients concerned.

This project is supported by Krebsforschung Schweiz (KLS-4102-02-17)


Project RIPK3  (Institute of experimental immunology, University of Zurich)

The role of RIPK3 in tumor formation and metastasis  (W. Wong)

(2015 - 2017)

RIPK3 is a specific protein that influences the secretion of many cytokines, chemical messengers that can modify the immune system and the surrounding cells, facilitating the development of tumors and the formation of metastases.

The team of researchers at Uni Zurich investigates the role of the specific RIPK3 protein, which regulates the production of several cytokines. The study has in particular been focused on the role of RIPK3 on the formation of tumor nodules in the lungs.

The findings have been published in the scientific journal "Nature / Cell Death and Disease"

This research project was supported by Krebsforschung Schweiz (KFS 3386-02-2014).


Project at the Proton Therapy Center at Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), Villigen

Development of a treatment verification system for continuous scanning in proton therapy  (G. Meer, G. Klimpki)

(2014 - 2018)

The Center for Proton Therapy at PSI is a long-standing leader in the field, having in particular developed the isocentric arm irradiation facility (Gantry) and pioneered the Spot-Scanning technique since the early 90’s. This technique is used to irradiate with high precision deep-seated tumors that would otherwise be untreatable, while preserving at best the healthy areas at the boundary with the tumor.

Certain tumors are localized in organs that may move during the irradiation, because of breathing or muscular contractions, such as lungs, breast and liver for example. In order to assure the required precision in the proton beam position and delivered radiation dose in these cases, and reduce the irradiation times, the Proton therapy center at PSI developed the Continuous Scanning technique.

The aim of this project, for which the Foundation has co-funded a PhD researcher, is to develop a verification system to monitor the proton beam in continuous scanning mode (energy, intensity, position). Precision, speed, safety and reliability are key issues.

The development of the new system has been completed in the first half of 2018. The system has been installed and tested and is now ready to become operational in Gantry 2.

The PhD thesis report is available here.


Project at the Institute for Molecular Cancer Research (IMCR, University of Zurich)

Identification of germline mutations in families with predisposition to prostate cancer  (J. Jiricny, G. Marra)

(2013 - 2021)

The aim of this research project is to investigate the heritable mutations that might cause the predisposition to prostate cancer in two families with twins. The identification of the mutations would be of great importance in the planning of preventive strategies in the offspring and, hopefully, also in many other families in the future.

The genetic samples from different members in the family pedigrees were analyzed using the next generation DNA sequencing of exome and genome. Following a preliminary data analysis at IMCR, a collaboration was established in 2015 with the project IMPACT in the UK which is active in this field and disposes of a much larger number of bioinformaticians.

The in-depth analysis showed the presence, in one family pedigree and through all generations, of a variant of a little known mutation that could be the cause, or one of the causes, of the predisposition to prostate cancer.

This finding was inserted in the international reference databases in order to determine if other occurrences of this mutation were observed and reported.

In October 2016 a collaboration was established with a research laboratory in the Netherlands with acknowledged expertise in studies in vitro of this type of cell samples. In 2017 the results of the study confirmed that this mutation variant is indeed pathogenic.

In 2018 the study was extended to tumor cell samples under paraffin of some family members deceased since about a decade. This studies have been found to be technically very challenging and have been pursued in 2019 and 2020. The final results are reported in an article that is expected to be published in the last quarter of 2021.

The main finding of this investigation, namely that the specific mutation variant is indeed pathogenic, has been conveyed through the appropriate channels to the members of the family, whose identity is of course unknown to the foundation.


B) Visual Arts

Project "Maria Netter" - Swiss Institute for Art Research  (SIK-ISEA, Zurich)

Übernahme des fotografischen Nachlasses der Basler Kunstkritikerin Maria Netter (1917-1982)   (M. Oberli, S. Noseda)

(2014 - 2017)

Maria Netter was a prominent Swiss art critic in the years 1944 to 1982. Her photographic archive is of exceptional interest for the knowledge of the artistic activities and its protagonists in Switzerland in that period. The collection consists of about 1’500 b/w negative films for a total of more than 50’000 pictures as well as excerpts from magazines.

This material has been processed following a scientific methodology (protection, inventarisation, digitalisation and conservation).

An inventory has been made. Individual films have been entered in the general database of SIK-ISEA with meta-data, i.e. date, people, places etc. A selection of 600 pictures has been analysed and the corresponding negatives have been digitized at high resolution. A dedicated domain has been reserved and a dedicated website with many interactive features has been developed.

On 01.03.2017 SIK-ISEA organised a podium panel to present the project to the researchers and the public and opened the access to the website.

The website link is:

www.maria-netter.ch


C) Classical Music

Grants to students of Swiss Conservatories and  Academies of Music (Conservatoires, Hautes écoles de musique, Musikhochschulen)

(2014 - ongoing)

The foundation supports talented students at Master level in the Conservatories and Academies with grants that cover the cost of tuition fees for one or two semesters (based on the current tariffs in Switzerland).

Music festivals, orchestras, ensembles or concert series are not supported.


Piano competition for the students of the "Confédération des écoles genevoises de musique (CEGM)"

(2013 - 2015)

The CEGM consists of two conservatories and one institute. The Foundation has organized this competition in three successive years. The auditions and the concerts of the prize winners have been hosted in turn by the three music schools. Details (in French) can be found here.


Home    About Us     Aim     Projects     Requests    Contact

Projekte

Die von der Stiftung vollständig oder durch Kofinanzierung unterstützten Projekte werden im Folgenden kurz beschrieben (Stand Juli 2021). Weitere Informationen sind auf Anfrage erhältlich.


A) Krebsforschung und klinische Studien bei Krebs

Projekt zur Prävention von Cisplatin-induziertem Hörverlust (Kantonsspital Baselland)

Localized hypothermia for the prevention of cisplatin-induced hearing loss: A translational research project (D. Péus)

(2021 - laufend)

Chemotherapien auf Cisplatin-Basis, die bei der Behandlung verschiedener Krebsarten eingesetzt werden, haben aufgrund ihrer Toxizität häufige Nebenwirkungen, wie periphere Neuropathien sowie manchmal schwere Hörverluste. Ziel dieses Forschungsprojekts ist es, die Machbarkeit einer neuartigen Technik zur Prävention von Hörverluste zu untersuchen, die, wenn sie erfolgreich ist, zu einer klinischen Studie und schließlich zu einer verbesserten Therapie führen könnte. Die voraussichtliche Dauer der Machbarkeitsstudie ist ein Jahr. Die Stiftung leistet finanzielle Unterstützung in Höhe von 25 % des gesamten Projektbudgets.


TAXIS international phase-III trial (Unispital Basel)

Tailored axillary surgery with or without axillary lymph node dissection followed by radiotherapy in patients with clinically node-positive breast cancer (TAXIS). A multicenter randomized phase III trial (Walter P. Weber).

(2021 - laufend)

Vollständige Lymphknotenentfernung durch konventionelle Axilladissektion war lange Zeit die Standardbehandlung bei Brustkrebspatientinnen. Dieser radikale Eingriff kann langanhaltende schwere Nebenwirkungen wie Schmerzen und Bewegungseinschränkungen hervorrufen. Ziel der TAXIS-Studie, einer internationalen Studie unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. W. Weber am Universitätsspital Basel, ist es, die Behandlung auf Basis einer maßgeschneiderten Achselchirurgie in Verbindung mit einer Strahlentherapie zu evaluieren, die eine optimale Wirksamkeit ohne die Nebenwirkungen der konventionellen Behandlung gewährleisten könnte. Die Stiftung unterstützt die Studie über drei Jahre mit einem Betrag, der die Behandlungskosten der in der Schweiz rekrutierten Patientinnen deckt.


Project on radiation therapy quality improvement program (RTQA) (Unispital Zürich)

Clinical Trials associated Radiation Therapy Quality Improvement Program for a prospective randomized trial on high-precision radiosurgery for brain metastases conducted by the Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich (N. Andratschke)

(2021 - laufend)

Hirnmetastasen die in Verbindung mit verschiedenen Krebsarten auftreten werden im Allgemeinen mit stereotaktischer Radiochirurgie behandelt, deren Zeitpunkt umstritten ist. Das Comprehensive Cancer Center Zurich (CCCZ) startet eine randomisierte klinische Phase-III-Studie zu diesem Thema. Derzeit gibt es jedoch keine vereinbarten Standards zur Qualitätssicherung der Strahlentherapie (RTQA) für die hochpräzise Radiochirurgie des Gehirns im Rahmen klinischer Studien. Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab, eine RTQA-Strategie innerhalb der CCCZ-Studie zu implementieren und schließlich moderne Qualitätsstandards in die klinische Routine zu übertragen. Die Stiftung fördert über zwei Jahre 22% des gesamten Projektbudgets.


Projekt zu zirkulierenden Tumorzellen (Universität Basel, Unispital Basel)

Three-dimensional culture of circulating tumor cells on a microchip technology to enable real-time personalized drug screening (F. Schwab)

(2019 - laufend)

Die Studie wird von Dr. Fabienne Schwab, Unispital Basel (USB) im Rahmen eines translationalen Forschungsprojekts unter der Leitung von Prof. N. Aceto an der Universität Basel durchgeführt. Ziel der Studie ist es, die im Blut zirkulierenden Tumorzellen (CTC) herauszufinden und zu analysieren, um die Biologie und Bildung von Metastasen zu untersuchen.

Die CTCs werden mittels Mikrofluidik-Technologien nachgewiesen und isoliert. Die Sequenzierung des Genoms ermöglicht einen Einblick in den Metastasenbildungsprozess. Die Wirkungen verschiedener Medikamente können dann auf ex-vivo-Kulturen von CTCs untersucht werden, um wirksame personalisierte Therapien zu entwickeln.

In dieser Studie wird ein Mikrochip mit neuartiger Konzeption entwickelt, um die Kultur von CTCs und die Untersuchung von Medikamenten in vitro zu integrieren.

Ein erster Artikel zu den Ergebnissen wurde im Juni 2021 in einer wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift veröffentlicht.


Projekt zur photodynamischen Krebstherapie (EPFL Lausanne)

Combined use of exogenous agents and photobiomodulation to improve cancer photodynamic therapy with protoporphyrin IX (G. Wagnières)

(2019 - 2020)

Die photodynamische Therapie (PDT) ist eine Technik zur Erkennung und Behandlung von Tumorläsionen mit Hilfe von Photosensibilisatoren (PS). Die PS sind chemische Substanzen, die sich in Tumorgeweben konzentrieren und bei Lichteinwirkung toxisch werden, wodurch die Tumorzellen abgetötet werden. PDT ist leider nicht immer wirksam, da der Photosensibilisator häufig in unzureichender Menge hergestellt wird und nicht homogen ist.

Ziel dieses von Dr. G. Wagnières im Labor für funktionelle und metabolische Bildgebung an der EPFL geleiteten Projekts ist es, eine neuartige Methode zu entwickeln, um mittels Photobiomodulation (PBM) die Menge und Homogenität der endogenen Produktion eines bestimmten Photosensibilisators in Tumorzellen zu erhöhen. Dies besteht darin, das Tumorgewebe bestimmten Dosen von nicht thermischer Strahlung im nahen Infrarot auszusetzen, um den Zellstoffwechsel und entsprechend die Produktion des Photosensibilisators zu stimulieren.

Über die Ergebnisse wird in einem zur Veröffentlichung eingereichten Artikel berichtet.


Projekt PEINCA (Uni Basel (Institut für Pflegewissenschaft), Inselspital Bern, Triemlispital Zürich)

Studie zum Testen der Wirksamkeit des deutschsprachigen PRO-SELF© Plus Pain Control Program, einer Intervention für Patienten und Patientinnen mit fortgeschrittenen Krebserkrankungen und ihre Angehörigen zur Reduktion von Schmerzen und damit zusammenhängenden Beschwerden  (E. Spichiger, R. Spirig, K. Zaugg)

(2015 - 2019)

Schmerz ist leider eine kontinuierliche und oft unerträgliche Präsenz für Patienten mit Krebs in einem fortgeschrittenen Stadium. Es ist eine Ursache des Leidens für die Patienten und ihre Angehörigen. Um die Lebensqualität zu verbessern, benötigt man eine wirksame Methode, um Art und Dosierung der Schmerzmittel zu optimieren.

Ziel des PEINCA-Projekts ist es, die Wirksamkeit des PRO-SELF © Plus-Pain Control Program (Schmerzkontrollprogramms) bei der Verringerung von Schmerzen und damit verbundenen Symptomen zu bewerten, indem es an deutschsprachige ambulante Krebspatienten und deren Familienbetreuer angepasst wird.

Das Projekt wurde im Dezember 2019 abgeschlossen. Die Anzahl der teilnehmenden Patienten war geringer als erwartet, aber diese Patienten beteiligten sich aktiv an der Studie.Eines der Hauptergebnisse der Studie war, dass die Gruppe der Patienten, die die PRO-SELF Plus PCP-Methode anwendeten, im Durchschnitt eine erhebliche Verringerung der Schmerzen berichtete. Das tägliche Logbuch der wahrgenommenen Schmerzen erwies sich als sehr nützlich und effektiv zur Optimierung der Behandlung und der Dosierung unter Kontrolle des medizinischen und pflegerischen Personals. Die Autoren der Studie haben empfohlen, das Schmerzkontrollprogramm in die klinische Standardpraxis aufzunehmen.

Die Studie war das Thema einer Doktorarbeit und wurde in Artikeln in wissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht.


Projekt Prostatakrebs (Uni Bern, Departement Klinische Forschung (DKF))

Auf dem Weg zu einer Präzisions-Therapie für SPOP Mutanten Prostatakrebs  (Mark A. Rubin)

(2017 - 2018)

Bestimmte Arten von Prostatakrebs sind durch eine frühe Mutation in einem Gen namens SPOP definiert. Diese Mutationen ermöglichen es den Tumorzellen über zwei unterschiedliche kritische Wege zu wachsen. Ziel des Projekts ist es, diese Mechanismen aufzuklären.

Ein Mausmodellsystem wird verwendet und die "Genschere" CRISPR-Cas9 wird eingesetzt.

Die Forscher hoffen, ein erweitertes Verständnis von SPO-Mutanten-Prostatakrebs to erreichen und eine Präzision-Behandlung vorschlagen zu können.

Dieses Projekt ist von Krebsforschung Schweiz unterstützt (KLS-4102-02-17).


Projekt RIPK3  (Institut für experimentelle Immunologie, Universität Zürich)

The role of RIPK3 in tumor formation and metastasis  (W. Wong)

(2015 - 2017)

Spezielle Botenstoffe, so genannte Zytokine, können das lmmunsystem sowie umgebende Zellen so verändern, dass sie die Tumorentwicklung und die Entstehung von Metastasen unterstützen. Das Forschungsteam der Universität Zürich untersucht die Rolle eines bestimmten Proteins namens RlPK3, das die Ausschüttung mehrerer Zytokine beeinflusst.

Das Projekt hat insbesondere die Rolle von RIPK3 bei der Bildung von Tumorknoten in der Lunge untergesucht.

Die Ergebnisse wurden in Fachzeitschrift "Nature / Cell Death and Disease" veröffentlicht.

Dieses Projekt war von Krebsforschung Schweiz unterstützt (KFS-3386-02-2014).


Protonentherapie Projekt am Zentrum für Protonentherapie (ZPT), Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), Villigen (CH)

Development of a treatment verification system for continuous scanning in proton therapy  (D. Meer, G. Klimpki)

(2014 - 2018)

Das ZPT am PSI ist führend bei der technologischen Entwicklung der Protonentherapie für die Bestrahlung von tief liegenden Tumoren. Hier wurde die Bestrahlungsanlage (Gantry) mit isozentrischem Arm entwickelt. Die Spot-Scanning-Technik ist seit 1996 für die Therapie von Krebspatienten im Einsatz. Diese Technik wird verwendet, um tief sitzende Tumoren mit hoher Präzision zu bestrahlen und gleichzeitig das benachbarte gesunde Gewebe zu schonen.

Bestimmte Tumoren sind in Organen lokalisiert, die sich während der Bestrahlung bewegen können aufgrund von Atmung oder Muskelkontraktionen, wie z. B. Lunge, Brust und Leber. Um in diesen Fällen die erforderliche Präzision in der Protonenstrahlposition und der abgegebenen Strahlungsdosis sicherzustellen und die Bestrahlungszeiten zu verkürzen, entwickelte das ZPT die Continuous Scanning Technik.

Das Ziel dieses Projektes, geführt von einem PhD Physiker (von der Stiftung unterstützt), ist ein Verifikationssystem zu entwickeln, um kontinuierlich gescannt Protonenstrahlen zu überwachen. Präzision, Schnelligkeit, Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit sind zentrale Themen.

Das neue System wurde im Frühjahr 2018 fertiggestellt und getestet. Es ist nun im Gantry 2 einsatzbereit.

Die Doktorarbeit ist hier verfügbar.


Projekt am Institut für Molekulare Krebsforschung (IMCR, Universität Zürich)

Identification of germline mutations in families with predisposition to prostate cancer  (J. Jiricny, G. Marra)

(2013 - 2021)

Ziel dieses Forschungsprojekts ist es, die vererbbaren Mutationen zu untersuchen, die bei zwei Familien mit Zwillingen für die Veranlagung für Prostatakrebs verursachen können. Die Identifizierung der Mutationen wäre von großer Bedeutung bei der Planung von Präventionsstrategien bei den Nachkommen und hoffentlich auch bei vielen anderen Familien in der Zukunft.

Die genetischen Proben von verschiedenen Mitgliedern in den Stammbäumen der Familie wurden unter Verwendung der “next generation” DNA-Sequenzierung von Exom und Genom analysiert. Nach einer vorläufigen Datenanalyse bei IMCR wurde 2015 eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt IMPACT in Großbritannien eingerichtet, das in diesem Forschungsbereich tätig ist und über eine viel größere Anzahl von Bioinformatikern verfügt.

Die eingehende Analyse zeigte, dass in einem Stammbaum einer Familie und durch alle Generationen, eine Variante einer wenig bekannten Mutation vorhanden war, die die Ursache oder eine der Ursachen für die Veranlagung zu Prostatakrebs sein könnte.

Dieses Ergebnis wurde in die internationalen Referenzdatenbanken eingefügt, um festzustellen, ob andere Vorkommen dieser Mutation beobachtet und gemeldet wurden.

Im Oktober 2016 wurde eine Zusammenarbeit mit einem niederländischen Forschungslabor mit anerkannter Expertise in In-vitro-Studien dieser Art von Zellproben eingerichtet. 2017 bestätigten die Ergebnisse der Studie, dass diese Mutationsvariante tatsächlich pathogen ist.

Im Jahr 2018 wurde die Studie auf Tumorzellproben unter Paraffin einiger Familienmitglieder ausgedehnt, die seit mehr als zehn Jahren verstorben sind. Diese Studien haben sich als technisch sehr herausfordernd erwiesen und wurden 2019 und 2020 fortgeführt. Über die Endergebnisse wird in einem Artikel berichtet, der voraussichtlich im letzten Quartal 2021 veröffentlicht wird.

Das wichtigste Ergebnis dieser Untersuchung, nämlich dass die spezifische Mutationsvariante tatsächlich pathogen ist, wurde über die entsprechenden Kanäle an die Familienmitglieder weitergegeben, deren Identität der Stiftung natürlich unbekannt ist.



B) Bildende Kunst

Projekt "Maria Netter" - Schweizerische Institut für Kunstwissenschaft (SIK-ISEA, Zürich)

Übernahme des fotografischen Nachlasses der Basler Kunstkritikerin Maria Netter (1917-1982)   (M. Oberli, S. Noseda)

(2013 - 2017)

Maria  Netters Aufnahmen  sind von herausragender  Bedeutung für die  Kenntnis des Kunstbetriebs  und seiner Akteure  in der Schweiz  in den  1940er bis 1980er Jahren. Der fotografische Nachlass umfasst rund 1’500 Schwarz-Weiss-Negativ-Filme mit über 50’000 Aufnahmen sowie Zeitungsausschnitte. Mit dieser Übernahme kann das Fotomaterial am SIK-ISEA nach wissenschaftlichen Kriterien erfasst (Sicherung, Inventarisation, Teil-Digitalisierung) und konserviert werden.

Ein Inventar wurde angefertigt. Einzelne Filme wurden in der Datenbank von SIK-ISEA mit Metadatierung  (Datum, Personen, Orte usw) erfasst. Eine Auswahl von 600 Aufnahmen wurde analysiert und die entsprechende Negativaufnahmen wurden hochauflösend digitalisiert. Eine eigene URL wurde reserviert und eine eigene Website mit vielen Funktionen wurde erstellt.

Am 1.3.2017 führte SIK-ISEA ein Podium durch, um den Forschern und der Öffentlichkeit das Projekt vorzustellen, und schaltete die Website ein. Der Link zur Website lautet:

www.maria-netter.ch


C) Klassische Musik

Beiträge/Stipendien für Studierenden  der Musikhochschulen

(2014 - laufend)

Die Stiftung unterstützt Studierende der Musikhochschulen (auf Master-Niveau) mit individuellen Beiträgen, welche die Studiengebühren für ein oder zwei Semester (nach den aktuellen Tarifen in der Schweiz) abdecken.

Musikfestivals, Orchester, Ensembles oder Konzertreihen werden nicht unterstützt.


Klavierwettbewerb für Studierenden der  "Confédération des écoles genevoises de musique (CEGM)"

(2013 bis 2015)

Die CEGM umfasst zwei Konservatorien und ein anderes Institut. Die Stiftung hat in drei aufeinander folgenden Jahren diesen Wettbewerb in Genf organisiert und unterstützt. Der Wettbewerb wurde von den drei Musikschulen abwechselnd veranstaltet. Alle Angaben (auf Französisch) finden Sie hier.



Home    Über uns    Zweck     Projekte     Gesuche    Kontakt